2. Advance Course in Medical Education


2. Advance Course in Medical Education (ACME)

In 2014, the Faculty Development Program (FDP) was expanded by starting the conduct of Advance Course in Medical Education (ACME) with the purpose of developing educational practitioners who can lead educational changes in their institutions to make medical education responsive to the health needs of the society. Advance Course in Medical Education was initiated by upgrading selected Regional Centres, who had required trained faculty and infrastructure, to Nodal Centres. Medical colleges were allocated to these Nodal Centres for training in ACME.

Ten Nodal Centres were recognized by MCI and are located at the following institutions:

  • Christian Medical College, Ludhiana
  • Jawahar Lal Nehru Medical College, Wardha
  • Smt. NHL Municipal College, Ahmedabad
  • Sri Ramachandra Medical College & Research Institute, Chennai
  • St. John’s Medical College, Bangalore
  • Seth GS Medical College & KEM Hospital, Mumbai
  • Government Medical College, Kottayam
  • Pramukhswami Medical College, Karamsad
  • Christian Medical College, Vellore
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Belgaum